2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Milage while in the Shop!!!

Old 07-29-2007, 12:34 PM
BatteriesNotINCL
Senior User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Milage while in the Shop!!!

So I took my truck in for a speedy liquid change...front and rear pumkin, transfer and trans, power steering, and coolant. I was the first one at the dealership and they said that it would take all day. I guess it would have been okay but...I took the milage before I had them take it as they normally do and I reset the trip meter. The whole day went by and they said that they had to order fluid...which I think is stupid they don't have on hand.

Anyways, I get my truck back the next day:
1. My milage was 84,868 and they recorded 84,875
2. My trip meter was reset due to "the battery disconnect"
3. The Milage Out was 84,984.

I'm no expert, but I don't belive it takes 116 miles and a quarter tank of gas to do these changes. I brough it up to the sup and demanded a reason why there was these "extra Miles" and the "false record" of the original. I only had to 85k for the warranty and only have 16 upon leaving.

Apparently they took it to lunch, and down to the part warehouse. I got the service compt but the fact is you have to be careful that the service dpt. isn't putting more miles than nessesary for those still under wrty.!

Old 07-29-2007, 02:01 PM
pilot10
More Turbo
I feel for you- I know what it's like see your truck driving down the road when it's suppossed to be in the shop. Fortunately they were just road testing(that's what I keep telling myself anyway)

Thoughts(for the dealer):

How about filling the tank up.

Monthly payment divided by days in the month- Refund that amount to you- it only takes a couple hours max to do the work you had done.