6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Daily driving a diesel? advise

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2006, 12:26 PM
mxdan
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Daily driving a diesel? advise

Ive been searching youre message board for a while to find what i'm looking for but I still can't find it so maybe someone can offer me their advise. Basically I love trucks, and as long as i get 10 mpg in town i won't complain. That being said is it okay to own a diesel f250 4x4 as a daily driver, i commute to work roughly 20 miles, and use my trucks to get to the tracks on the weekends, sometimes i pull a 12 foot trailer loaded with dirtbikes etc(once a month). I plan on getting a medium boat soon. Now all these things can be done by a f150 no problem, but I love how the diesels drive, sound and the sheere massive size( ive driven them but never owned one) THAT being said, i keep reading how unless you work the 6.0 PSD hard you might have problems, mainly with moisture in the oil. will i run into problems with the truck if i use it as a daily driver. THANKS

Old 12-10-2006, 12:44 PM
NavyPowerstroker
More Turbo
No. You shouldn't have problems as long as you drive it often and get it hot when you do. I use mine as a daily driver going about 10 miles each way to work and have never had a problem. I do get on it every so often and make sure I burn off any residue on the turbo. They make great daily drivers and get quite a bit better than the 10 mpg you stated.

Old 12-10-2006, 01:02 PM
DaMole
Posting Guru