Escape & Escape Hybrid Ford Escape, Ford Escape Hybrid, Mercury Mariner, Mazda Tribute

Checking tranny fluid ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2007, 06:40 PM
SShank42
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Checking tranny fluid ?

Okay, I feel like an idiot. What is the proper way to read the dipstick on a 01' V6 automatic? I am a fairly desent mechanic, but am lost. Picture a ? mark. Now imagine that is the finger hole on the dipstick. Pull the dipstick out with the open side of the ? mark facing the front of the vehichle it say its over full on on side of the dipstick and under full on the other. So now rotate the dipstick 180 degrees and insert into tube. Now the open side of the ? mark is facing the fire wall. Remove the distick and it reads just the opposite as it did the other way. So am I not full or over full. Tried to get an accureate reading 20 or more times. Now I am worried about what the level actually is. It was warmed up and the dipstick was properly seated on the tube and the vehicle was level.

Old 07-07-2007, 07:17 PM
JFUSION
Senior User