Just messed up big time I think...really bad

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2006, 08:33 PM
reed1951
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Just messed up big time I think...really bad

Ok first of all, I am a beginner at the engine tear down deal. I was just trying to take the piston out of my 302 and something very bad happened. Keep in mind it was a junk yard engine and when I took the heads off a few cylinders had some rust and corrosion in them (which explains the engine being stuck) which as far as I could see was just a gasket or head problem, any ways, I had soaked the cylinders in oil and penetrating oil to loosen things up. I started to hit the piston with a hammer and steel rod ( fond out I wasnt suppose to use a steel rod to do this with). While I was hitting the rod it became wedged, without me knowing, and "cracked" the bottom of the cylinder bore...you know the part of the cylinder wall that extends in to the engine towards the crank. It made a rainbow crack that went about an inch horizontally and a little over a half an inch vertical of the cylinder wall....at the very bottom of the cylinder wall. I was devistated to see what I had done to say the vary least. If I had a picture of it I would put it on here but my camera is at work so I couldn't take one. Does anybody think this engine is worth messing with now or can it be fixed some how? I know what I did was stupid but I just wish I could fix it some how cause it was a 69 block and thoughs blocks are suppose to be stronger than the 5.0 roller blocks plus it had't even been bored or anything. Now I know I'll just let an experienced builder mess with my engine.

Old 10-24-2006, 09:22 PM
rboeding
Senior User
If you are going to take it to a good builder thay can sleve that cyl or all of them and everthing should be fine. If it was rusted that bad it might need that anyway.

Old 10-24-2006, 09:52 PM
reed1951
Posting Guru