1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

289 or 302 in 48 F1??

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2006, 12:08 AM
restoringmy46
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
289 or 302 in 48 F1??

Do they make a kit to put a 289 or 302 in a 48 F1. I'm thinking of the idea but I want to be able to use my original drive shaft. I just would like to know if the make a kit to do this with and if so has anyone bought it and have sime pice of it to look at. The front end as far as my frame is original. All I want to do is put a small block in it. The motor I found is a 302 with a C6 trans. I have worked on older trucks and cars over the years with my dad, but I have never done a motor swap like this before. The truck has the flathead motor mounts still in it. Can I leave those in there if I ever decide to put the flathead back in it. It's no big deak to take the out, but I didn't know if those had to be removed or not. Thanks for any help or info on this. Scott

Old 10-11-2006, 08:27 AM
GreatNorthWoods
Lead Driver
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Scott,

You may be able to re-use your original driveshaft but the chances of it being the correct length with the C6 is remote. That transmission is a lot longer than the original stocker and you wouldn't want to place an engine just to suit the length of an original driveshaft even if you could. There are a number of mounting kits for this swap available through the aftermarket. Check with Chassis Engineering for one. I didn't use a 302 but I would think the original engine mounts would have to come out. They were in the way on my engine installation.

I've known several guys that wanted to modifiy their truck but wanted to be able to return it to stock someday but that rarely, if ever, happens. Once you get a taste of the dark side you won't want to go back...

Old 10-11-2006, 09:06 AM
mt54
Posting Guru