Escape & Escape Hybrid Ford Escape, Ford Escape Hybrid, Mercury Mariner, Mazda Tribute

touble code p0351

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2007, 12:59 PM
firemanjonjon
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry touble code p0351

My 2002 Escape V6 with 80,000 miles developed a miss, diagnosis code was P0351 (ignition coil A primary/secondary circuit malfunction). I replaced the COP on #1 as well as all spark plugs. The problem still persists so I swapped the COP on #1 with #4 and the code still indicates "coil A". I'm stumped any help appreciated.

Old 02-06-2007, 08:49 PM
thomasWoh
New User
I'm no mechanic but will the code clear by itself? So if the problem was indeed fixed would it clear itself or do you need to reset it with a scanner or disconnecting the battery for a while? I understand some newer cars disconnecting the battery won't even clear the codes. I don't have the service manual for my Escape yet so I can't be of much help. I have more experience working on trouble codes for my 87 and 89 Nissan pulsars. (way more than I ever wanted) :-)

Tom

Old 02-08-2007, 07:59 AM
firemanjonjon
New User
I reset code with scanner, and code returns when I drive, also the persistant miss is still there and the spark plug on #1 upon inspection appears to have not been firing.

Old 02-09-2007, 11:29 PM
firemanjonjon
New User
I broke down and took the escape to the local ford dealer, I told the service guy what I had checked and that I thought is was the ECM that was bad. Well 4 hours and $90 later they called and said the ECM was bad and for $700+ they could fix it.

I will pick it up tomorrow morning and fedex my ecm to a remanufacturer and within 3-5 days I will be up and running for less than $300. (or thats the plan anyway...)

Old 02-21-2008, 04:18 PM
Perrymac400
New User
Need to revive this old thread to find out if replacing the ECM fixed Firemanjonjon's problem.