1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

1970 f250 CS...good work truck?

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2014, 10:37 PM
Need work truck
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1970 f250 CS...good work truck?

Am seriously considering buying this old truck. Need to haul horses, firewood etc. have been reading the threads here and think I may be getting the old Ford truck fever! I have little experience with Fords...but I kept a 1961 Dodge panel wagon as a daily driver for 17 years, 'she' taught me a lot . Now I am in need of a workhorse. Seems like the camper special would fit the bill, cept for the gas mileage, but I will be keeping pretty local. Any imput would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Old 06-01-2014, 10:49 PM
HIO Silver
Post Fiend
Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts
Sure. These rigs are relatively cheap to keep. It beats a $400+ monthly truck payment.... Add a proportioning trailer brake if yer gonna haul a horse trailer.

What transmission? C6, NP435, or T-18?

Old 06-01-2014, 11:11 PM
Pickupmanx2
Logistics Pro
Received 238 Likes on 183 Posts
Preventative maintenance,,, staying on top of it. My 66 F100 is my daily driver (usually, unless I'm driving one of the others in the fleet for exercise!) I noticed my brakes weren't "right" pulled Shrek in the garage, and looky there,,, got a small leak at the splitter on the rear axle... 2 new lines bent to the most ugliest shapes possible,,, got my 14 yo daughter out to do the pushin, and bled them out, all is good! The main thing is just payin attention to it. I drive all of mine anywhere I want/need to go, and maintain them accordingly. Now I will be the first to admit,,, $h~t happens, but you can minimize it.
And YEP,,, ain' no payments here!! Just to the Gas stations and NAPA!!!

Old 06-01-2014, 11:50 PM
Thipdar
Laughing Gas
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Originally Posted by Need work truck