Lightning, Harley-Davidson F-150, Roush F-150 & Saleen F-150 SVT Ford F150 Lightning, Roush, Saleen and other performance F150's

Spitting spark plugs

Old 03-31-2006, 04:09 PM
busmechanic
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Spitting spark plugs

I am a bus mechanic for a small bus company(7 ford E-350's). I've only have one van that keeps spitting spark plugs it's a 2000 with a v-10. I've heli-coiled 5 out of the 10 cylinders. Dont go to Ford for help unless your truck is under warranty.Ford insists that it does not have a problem. Ford needs to go to comsumer affairs.com and see how many prolems they have.

Old 04-02-2006, 07:46 AM
IB Tim
Site Administrator
Received 57 Likes on 30 Posts
...Welcome to Ford Truck Enthusiasts!

We are happy you have chosen the best source for Fords.

Enjoy FTE....and
JOIN CLUB FTE -SUPPORT THE FORUMS!
…..See you on the boards.

Old 04-02-2006, 09:45 AM
MustangGT221
Post Fiend
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
This is a known problem, there arn't enough threads on the head to properly hold the spark plug.

Ford has fixed the problem but is not willing to pay for millions and millions of heads to be fixed. They work - but need to be watched. If the plug loosens and is not checked for tq it'll pop out. Best thing you can do is check them every so often to make sure they're tight.

Old 04-02-2006, 01:00 PM
captchas
do as justin states and a lot of us do inch pound wrench and retorqe .or as you state replace the rest of the holes with repair kits. here's the site of the one a lot of the men have used . and most guys have converted to the full thread ones at the same time.
i am also a mechanic "just retired" .spark plugs coming loose in alloy heads is not some thing new .i've been fixing them since 1964 in alloy heads. infact i fixed a lawn mower head a few days back with a blown plug.
http://fulltorque.com/
http://www.timesert.com/

Last edited by captchas; 04-02-2006 at 01:05 PM.
Old 04-29-2006, 11:54 PM
bigsnag
Posting Guru