Sponsored by: DP Tuner

primary tow rig for farm

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2005, 08:17 PM
mikeinWA
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
primary tow rig for farm

I am in the market for a primary tow rig for my farm. Because of price I have concentrated on the 97-99 f250 4x4 diesels. Am I missing anything by not looking for the slightly newer slightly more $$$$ 99-03 bracket? As a farmer I hafta spend as wisely as possible and will depend on the truck for more than just a drive to work. Any insight is greatly appreciated. 4x4 dsl 8'bed and xtra cab a must.

Old 12-22-2005, 10:15 PM
cookie88
Hotshot
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
As far as the powertrain goes there's not a huge difference. The major difference on the engine is the 94-97 uses a mechanical fuel pump and the 99-03 is electric. I think the ZF-6 tranny is more user friendly for towing than the ZF-5 in the older trucks, and it has an intergral pump and external cooler. For the automatics, the 4R100 is generally considered stronger than the old E4OD. The newer trucks also have a 20-60 horsepower advantage depending on the year model and transmission......and it'll be easier to find a clean, low milage rig the newer you go.

Mostly it's your personal preference...pick the one that fit's your taste and budget the best and go for it. As long as that big blue oval is on the grill it's a great truck.

Old 12-22-2005, 11:26 PM
Kwikkordead
Fleet Owner
Received 791 Likes on 603 Posts
Yeah, what Cookie88 said. There's good advantages to the later style trucks. Intercooler, transmission coolers for the stick shifts.
They can be worked harder and not suffer for it.

Old 12-23-2005, 08:52 AM
warrens250
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts