Ontario Chapter Join Chapter>, Leader: loudfords

Who has FE power in their ride?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2005, 08:17 PM
Dealford
Cargo Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Who has FE power in their ride?

There's still lots of FE powered trucks and cars out there. Which one do you have?
I'm just beginning to collect the major parts to build, hopefully, a 410/416. Thanks again to fp_5 for the 360. Later on, I'll take the 3.98 crank in to see if it's saveable. Otherwise I'll have to re-think where I'm going with the whole project.
Is anyone running an FE on propane? I'm thinking that would be a more affordable fuel to run after the vehicle is all together, etc., etc.
AL.

Old 10-04-2005, 08:49 AM
fp_5
Laughing Gas
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Few people run FE's as daily drivers because they suck so much fuel. You can't give'm away. errr , oh yah you can give them away.

I actually heard a comercial on the radio for propane conversions. I can't recall the name of the company but they claimed 50% reduction in fuel costs and $750 from the province toward the installation.

If the province is kicking in $750 the conversion must be at least twice that if not more. Wonder if they are talking about dual fuel or propane only? also wonder if they can do Carbureted engines?
I'll try and catch the name of the outfit next time I here it. Does anyone run propane that can verify the 50% claim, seems a little hi to me.

Al, have you decided what your going to put the FE into? You'll need space for the propane bottle. Maybe Matt will donate his Focus to your project?

Frank

Old 10-04-2005, 09:00 PM
Dealford
Cargo Master
Possible bodies would include; 56 Panel, 58 or 67 Ranchero, 58 Edsel, 63/4 Park Lane rag top or 66 Half ton. Aside from the 67, my theory on the 410/416 instead of 360 or 390, is more centered around torque to haul the heavy body around. And then there's trailering.