1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Alternative fuel conversions?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2005, 11:53 AM
Triumph
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alternative fuel conversions?

I know it has probably been talked about already ...buuuut.... I am curious as to what fuel conversion options I have with my 352 (1966 F250).

My fresh rebuild,C6 & Higway geared DANA gets me pretty damn good mileage (an O.D. would be even more helpful)....but not good enough to justify paying 3.50 a gallon.

What are the options for an FE? How expensive? and who here has done the research?

I refuse to get rid of my truck, as I have been waiting for half my life to be able to afford to do one up right!
Thanks in advance, Thom

Old 09-06-2005, 12:05 PM
TremecGT
Senior User
I would think that a propane conversion would be your best bet, although I have no experience with it. Any other alternative would require a complete motor transplant where as you could retro your existing 352 to run on propane.

Or, get a cheap 4 banger ranger and save the 66 for special occasions!

Old 09-06-2005, 07:13 PM
ZombieSlayer
Posting Guru
There are quite a few threads in the FE engine forum about propane converstions.

This one https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/s...hlight=propane is pretty good.

Old 09-06-2005, 10:26 PM
Triumph
Senior User
Thumbs up

Thanks for the info!.......I figure it cant hurt to do a little research......I am pretty sure we will not be getting gas for less than $3.00 any time soon...(or ever again for that matter!).

I am not giving up my truck....

Old 09-07-2005, 03:06 AM
Torque1st
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
There is lots of info in the alternative fuels and mileage forum...

Old 09-07-2005, 09:33 PM
jd_sylvia
Posting Guru