Where's my leak?

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2008, 10:43 AM
bsaastad
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Where's my leak?

First post, please be gentle

Engine is '71 FE 360 with an Edelbrock intake manifold/carb.

I had a waterjacket breach, wasn't overheating at the time, but apparently the heads were trash and finally failed. I pulled the heads and took them to the machine shop where they said they were full of cracks. I got a pair of rebuilt heads and put it all back together, drained and replaced the old water and oil and fired it up. Ran fine for a bit, but I found that I once again had water in the oil (milky foam on the oil dipstick.)

Now, I'm new to this motor. Assuming that the heads are ok (new gaskets, torqued to spec in sequence, 70-80-90) what are the possibilities for that kind of a leak? I'm assuming the ports on either end of the intake manifold are water channels, correct? Is that a reasonable area to suspect? How likely is it that the problem is in the bottom end (again, no overheating at the time of failure)? Is there a trick to making sure the I/M seals to the heads (manifold bolts were torqued to 35 ft/lbs using a center out sequence), or will a good gasket sealent do the trick?

Thanks for any info.

Old 05-24-2008, 09:16 PM
marks69
Senior User
i would post this in the engine forum. more people who know well see it there.
gl
mark

Old 05-24-2008, 10:59 PM
THEBAT
New User
I've got the same issue with my 390. I've been told it's either head gaskets, intake gaskets or a cracked block...I have not ripped into mine yet, but that is what I have been told.

Old 05-25-2008, 10:38 AM
78fordman
Cargo Master
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts