General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

What To Do With My Life?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2005, 10:03 AM
Beast12
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question What To Do With My Life?

Well, as some of you may have read in my other thread ( https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/s...d.php?t=383080 ) I have some back problems.

I am almost 24 and have been working with my dad doing tree stuff since I was 11 (after school, weekends, holidays, summers). I have been doing it full-time for at least 5 years.

I am his NUMBER ONE man. I am basically the only tree climber he has. My friend works for us but he does small trees (mostly trimming). My dad can do small trees to a degree. He has 2 bad shoulders from doing tree stuff his whole life and can't do too much. So, that leaves me to do all the climbing (the big stuff at least).

About 3 weeks ago I hurt my back. How? I don't know. I just woke up one morning and it hurt. You can read more about it in the other thread. Anyways, so now I don't know what to do. I can't climb so that leaves my dad and friend to do it. So, now my dad is upset because he is basically screwed. Unless it is a small tree or he can get a bucket truck to it then he has no one to do the tree. And I am kind of screwed because I can't do any hard, physical work for at least 3 weeks (that's when I go back to the doctor).

I have told my dad (ever since I have been working full-time) that we need to get another climber. The reason is because it takes some of the load off of me, plus, if I ever got hurt (like now) then he still has someone to do the work. But, he didn't get a climber and now he is screwed.