low oil pressure - no oil to filter

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2005, 02:29 PM
armstpe
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
low oil pressure - no oil to filter

1973 F100, 2X4, 390, C6

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting in this forum and hope you can help me.

I just purchased this truck and noticed that the oil pressure seemed to be low on the factory guage. I bought a new sending unit and that wouldn't even register any oil pressure. To verify what the oil pressure really is I acquired a aftermarket mechanical guage and it showed 0 oil pressure at idle and about 20 lbs at a very fast idle.

The oil dipstick showed the oil to be about a quart over so I changed the oil and filter. When I pulled the old filter there was hardly any oil in it. I put in 4 quarts of oil and one quart of Lucas oil addative bringing the oil to the full mark on the dipstick. I started and ran the engine at a higher than normal idle for about ten minutes then checked the oil level expecting it to be a quart low. The oil level was still at the full mark. I ran the engine for another 15 min with the same results. The new oil filter was the purolator brand. The oil pressure after the change and at a idle slightly faster than normal gave me about 5lbs pressure and 25 lbs at a very high idle. Sorry, forgot to mention I used 20W50 oil.

I realize that the proper place to start checking for low oil pressure is the bearings but I question the lack of oil to the filter. I have never seen bearings prevent oil flow to the filter. I would appreciate any guidance you could give me.

Thanks in advance
Paul

Old 04-27-2005, 02:43 PM
RustyTrustyF150
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
One thing you could do first is pull the oil pan and inspect the screen on the oil pickup tube to see if it might be plugged from who knows what .

Old 04-27-2005, 02:47 PM
RustyTrustyF150
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
the 20w50 seems to be really thick unless your in a high temp climate .