Lift kit and towing a 5th wheel Trailer

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2005, 02:41 PM
sandiegogreg
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Lift kit and towing a 5th wheel Trailer

Hi all, newbie here!

I have a '04 F350 4X4 PSD with 3.73 gears (all I could get) with at 6" Skyjacker suspension lift and 35" tires. My question is this: has anyone towed a 5th wheel toy hauler, say 30' or better with a similar set up? If so, can you please tell me what your experience was with it? I know the obvious checklist items like, "I should re-gear, shouldn't have a lift kit and tow, and so on... but the reality is that I do go off road quite a bit, either snow for snowboard season or sand for my dirt bike addiction. Anyway, I am considering buying a trailer and want to get a 5th wheel because of the floor plan options available with them compared to hitch trailer. While I'm on the subject, any suggestions on a good toy hauler?

Thanks so much!

Old 02-06-2005, 02:58 AM
NoMo
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Can't say that I've ever seen a truck that tall pulling a 5er... having a stock 4x4 is bad enough!

Seems that some major suspension mods (to a normal trailer) would be required in order for it to be level when hitched. You could tow "nose-high", but that's not fun for the driver nor is it good for the trailer. A few trailers have an adjustable height suspension, but they don't go high enough for a truck like yours. Also doubt that "flipping the axle" (move axle from top of springs to bottom) would be sufficient.

Can't remember the brand, but I've seen some RVs built for "off-roading". You might try trailerlife.com & irv2.com to see if anyone has one. Or maybe someone is towing with a setup like you want.

Old 02-07-2005, 12:40 AM
sandiegogreg
New User
Thumbs up Lifted and Towing