Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

Mig welding/ welders

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2004, 10:41 AM
fellro86
Hotshot
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
[QUOTE=1952henry]I bought a Craftsman 110v a year ago and couldn't be happier. It is not live all the time, just when it is grounded and you pull the trigger.

The one I had was live when grounded, but didn't have to pull the trigger for it to arc. I didn't want to be pulling the ground all the time, besides, for tacking,it is very bad as it would arc before I was ready, due to the trigger only controling the wire feed and gas valve. Perhaps you have a different machine than I did, but that was my experience. Also, don't totally discount the experiences of others either, as it can save you some troubles and disappointments. I welded for a living for over 7 years before my back made it to where I can no longer secure a living in that field. I was only using the machine for light welding, and it was a severe disappointment for that, welding floor pans took forever because I had to wait for the heat reset every couple of minutes. I had only a 15 foot heavy duty extension cord. If I plugged it directly into the wall it was fine, but it's awful hard to get to parts of the car at that small distance.

Old 12-21-2004, 12:55 PM
Sberry27
Tuned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post