1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

5.4 triton gas how to increase gas mileage?

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2004, 03:31 PM
browningman42
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5.4 triton gas how to increase gas mileage?

any ideas on gas mileage increase for the 5.4 v-8 gas motor? i have heard about chips and flowmasters and cold air intakes as well as k@n filters anyone used these pleese help??

Old 11-28-2004, 03:47 PM
DougD
Senior User
Originally Posted by browningman42
any ideas on gas mileage increase for the 5.4 v-8 gas motor? i have heard about chips and flowmasters and cold air intakes as well as k@n filters anyone used these pleese help??
That's what I have a 5.4L - I have a chip, flowmaster and etc.. You want to increase mileage? Get a diesel... I get 9.5 mpg. 11 with no trailer is I baby it.... Same for my friend. he averages 10.5...

Old 11-28-2004, 04:24 PM
Autobahn F-250 Lariat
Posting Guru
Drive down hill and use a large sail stock i get 13mpg with my CC LWB

Old 11-28-2004, 04:31 PM
tarscraper
Senior User
I'm with autobahn. The sail is a good idea. I always smile when I see this one. Our trucks are 7000lb bricks.

Some people swear by tonneau covers, cold air intakes, free flowing exhaust, chips, intake and exhaust headers.

Unfortunatley you'll find as many people who don't think these mods do much at all for mileage. Performance yes and even that is sometimes. I think you will probably have your foot in it more often killing the mileage benefits.

Oh Oh I probably started a war.

Old 11-28-2004, 06:58 PM
Mwoodman
Freshman User
Funny...this exact same argument rages from time to time on the automotive board I came from. That one -- a sports car board -- never discusses mileage increase or decrease with these mods (well, almost never), but the debate runs rampant about actual gains.