Sponsored by:

Why no 4x4 in dry?

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2004, 08:29 PM
yamadude
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why no 4x4 in dry?

Ok yeah dont be all laughing at me cause im new to the 4x4 world and have newbie questions! Question: Why cant you, or why does the book say not to run 4x4 on dry pavement? How does that or can that mess things up? Now, im not going to run 4x4 just cause I have it, im jut wondering whats up with that. I really dont know. Im guessing its because of heat though. am I right?

Ok, so what about rain then? Is it ok to run 4x4 HI in rain, or on wet roads? Esp those black top roads I HATE when wet. They are so slippery.

ALSO......lol how do the AWD subaru cars use all time 4wd and not mess up??

Old 10-04-2004, 08:50 PM
fishmanndotcom
Lead Driver
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
there is no such thing as a stupid question....just keep reading a lurking and ask more question, we are hear to help!

ok, this is how it works.....when you are locked in 4x4 your 4 tires are turning at very close to the same speed. now when you go to turn your front tires actually move at a different speed. when this happens your drivetrain goes into a bind....most of the time the binding pressure is relieved by your tires letting go but if you are unlucky enough your tires will grip hard enough and destroy an axle joint which in turn can rape a knuckle like nobody's business. also it can and has been known to hurt the t-case if nothing else let's go. usually a wet road isn't slick enough to not cause problems....it's best to leave the 4x4 to the off pavement.

now about the the full time case....the gears inside a full time case actually has a limited slip featuire inside to allow the t-case to slip and not cause the drivetrain to bind up. but when you gas it they should lock up!

i hope i have shed some light

-cutts-

BTW....it is highly recommended that you use your 4x4 at least a few miles per month to keep them in check and greased up