Notices

Step Bars?

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2004, 10:23 PM
Firefighter8-1
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Step Bars?

Ive been lookin at step bars for my 96 reg cab for awhile and cant decide on what to buy. I need stainless because i live in the northeast and salt is a problem... Are westins CPS series worth the money since they have a lifetime warranty? also i have a si/do flowmaster exhaust and was wondering what the best intake would be to bump up my mileage and performance alittle....thanks

Old 09-12-2004, 12:04 AM
peppy
Postmaster
I very much Like my stainless Westin tubes. No complaints. Thick too.

Old 09-17-2004, 02:19 PM
03XLTFX4
New User
If it matters to you, I have found that Westin's customer
service is complete crap.

Old 10-14-2004, 06:50 AM
Lesspaul
Senior User
I wonder what step bars you went with. I have a 96 reg. cab and ordered wildcat flash chrome side bars. they will be delivered soon. I am worried that they will have cab mounts instead of frame mounts. I will coat them with plenty of wax because I live in the northeast too. I plan on pouring some rustoleum into them also.

Old 10-21-2004, 10:17 AM
Lesspaul
Senior User
I got the wildcats installed and was very impressed at the durable hardware kit. Mounts to the frame. Plenty of step room and low enough from the cab that I didnt have to modify the brackets like some have had to. They installed very easy and look super. I don't know what to expect from durability but they have a 6 yr. warranty and if you don't use abrasives on the chrome, they will replace them minus shipping. 227 dollars total.

Old 10-27-2004, 07:30 PM
patbomccauley
New User
better rust protection than Rustoleum

If salt is a problem I would skip the rustoleum for the inside of the bars. It can crack if you get any flex at all.

I would and go to homedepot/lowes/menards and by an SBS modified roof coating and pour it through. Henry is a good brand but there are others. (SBS stands for styrene butyl styrene)