Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

broke front axle on my 02' f250! Help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2004, 11:19 AM
FFSpiel
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy broke front axle on my 02' f250! Help!

I'm new to FTE and a beginer backyard mechanic to boot, so go easy guys as I'm really stuck in a pickle. I was hoping to get some guidance from this forum and wanted to get educated on some Ford front axle terminology so I don't sound like a retard. I'm used to motorcycle and ATV stuff, but had no idea that I would have to look up parts and such on the internet for my relatively new 02' diesel 4x4 crew.
The story: I live in Bakersfield. I noticed a "metallic clunking" while driving home, especially hitting the bumps. Got my truck on jacks to find (terminology problem...) a suspension "torsion bar(?)" mounting bracket to be fractured vertically. Was wondering about the correct name to call this bracket and bar that's attached to it. It's located, welded, to the passanger side front axle. A suspension bar is bolted to it on top (other end of bar bolted to frame, driver's side), the steering dampener is bolted to the bottom of this bracket. The fracture only involves the upper suspension "torsion bar" mount.
Questions: - is there a name for the bracket? - Is there a site on the internet where I can look up the part or part numbers relating to the front axle (... diagrams are what I'm most interested in). - Is the axle "housing/case" a solid unit or can it be separated from the differential for repairs or replacement when a bracket such as this is broken (... looking for an mechanic/OEM-dealer part type answer for this one) or does the whole axle housing need to be replaced? Can a fracture such as this be welded for a solid repair. Once again, it's the bracket that is damaged, not any onther component; I don't know how it happened...