Sponsored by: DP Tuner

diesel in Wisconsin

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2001, 09:05 AM
Paula
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
diesel in Wisconsin

I recently purchased an F-250 Turbo PSD to pull a horse trailer. I am worried about the use of my truck in winter...when I took it into the dealership someone in the service dept. commented that it wasn't very bright to buy a diesel in Wisonsin as I'll have problems with the fuel freezing/waxing in the very cold winters. I had assumed that the places selling diesel here would have the winter blend mentioned in the owner's manual?? Did I make a big mistake or was the guy being overly dramatic? I have no previous experience with diesel engines and would appreciate any comments/advice regarding winter driving.

Old 07-06-2001, 11:54 AM
mebaim
New User
diesel in Wisconsin

I don't think you made a mistake. You can find that winter blend at any decent truck stop. It may cost just a bit more, because of the additives they put it in to keep it from gelling. But think about it, if youwould have a problem with hte fuel so would the ENTIRE tricking industry in the northern plains. So enjoy your truck and I would only fill up at truck stops. They move a lot of fuel and they need to keep theirs clean.

Old 07-06-2001, 04:44 PM
otto
Posting Guru
diesel in Wisconsin