1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

clubwagon E150 oil leak, trany code, test ride

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2004, 09:05 PM
yama916
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
clubwagon E150 oil leak, trany code, test ride

hi again, and clubwagon, i really appreciate ur input, it is very informative and makes my E150/250 shopping much easier. So i test drove a 94 Clubwagon XLT E150 5.0L with 130K today. Drove great, shifted smooth, cant find anything wrong with it. Family driven so not even a Tow hitch on it! he wants bottom line 2800.. i think its a good deal. I looked for Trans code but couldnt find a sticker that said E4OD.. but the driver door sticker said E type.. is that the same thing? Sorry for the ignorant question, but even though ive been driving for over 10 years, never worked on a auto trans/Ford.. so im new to this. The E150 had OD off button, does that put the trans in 3rd? OD is 4th right? i just wanted to clear that up.. and a C6 3 speed tranny doesnt have a OD button?

I found a major leak, its motor oil that gets collected to the bell housing on the tranny. From the top of the motor it looked dry but couldnt see the back of the motor. is it reasonable to assume the oil leak is a rear main seal? is that commom? which would include a trans drop to swap the seal.. like a 5 hr job? I drop and install jap car front engine AWD trans in about 6 to 7 hours, Fords are easier right? or does the V8 have a cam seal leak thats commom? whats the most common leaks back there?

Thanks for ur input of the suspension advice, i will definetly look into KYB's, add a leaf and possibly a front sway bar too.. not sure if thats gonna fit in my budget.

I hope to test drive few more 150/250 and decide after that, still cant find any 250 though... well for my towing i can probably get away with 150 no problem.

thanks again yohei

Old 02-06-2004, 09:57 AM
Gene W
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi yama916,