Notices
1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TS chip, 6 way. For $100?

Old 07-08-2019, 01:50 PM
Oldanvilyoungsmith
Senior User
Oldanvilyoungsmith is starting off with a positive reputation.
TS chip, 6 way. For $100?

Alrightie, I've done some searching on here, and found that the consensus is the TS chip is decent, but not the best option for our trucks.

I hadn't really been intending to get a tuner anytime soon, because I didn't have the spare money, but a fellow I work with has one that he wants to sell me for $100. That's a good bit cheaper than new, and I'm considering buying it.

For that price, and with the caveats mentioned, would ya'll say it's worth it, or save my $? Any concerns with buying a used chip?

The guy who has it said it wouldn't work with his truck because he had a different serial # on his trucks computer... any idea what that's about? The box for the chip said it works with 95-03 power strokes.

As you can tell, I'm new to the tuners stuff, never messed with it, and haven't researched it a ton.

Old 07-08-2019, 04:50 PM
lpzd
Senior User
lpzd is starting off with a positive reputation.
ts chip has to be programmed for the computer in your truck, it will "work" on 95-03 if the proper tune is on the chip for the truck.

can he tell you what dpc code it was tuned for?
if you do buy it you will likely have to send it to someone to have correct tunes for your truck loaded onto it at additional cost

Old 07-08-2019, 06:34 PM
DieselDenny
Posting Guru
DieselDenny has a great reputation on FTE.DieselDenny has a great reputation on FTE.DieselDenny has a great reputation on FTE.DieselDenny has a great reputation on FTE.DieselDenny has a great reputation on FTE.