Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Injector related: Help needed what part do I need? Where to find it?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2019, 07:25 PM
hyghlndr
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Injector related: Help needed what part do I need? Where to find it?

Hi, total newbie to diesels but appreciate the help. Just finished the full install of a 7.3 idi in my truck. Got it started and running only to find it leaking diesel from the front and tracked it down to the front - first injector area on the passenger's side. There is a hole or damage to the metal part that appears to form the return line.

Is this part of the actual injector or what is it called? Where can I find a replacement?

Also is it normal for the glow plug relay to click loudly as it is in the wait to start mode?

Hopefully the last question of the day, any suggestions on a good brand of starter ?

Old 04-20-2019, 09:29 PM
'88 E-350
Fleet Mechanic
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
It's not metal, it's plastic. I think it's called a fuel return cup. You can get a whole fuel return kit with all the cups, o-rings, and hose for about $40. You take the nut off holding the steel tube and that cap lifts off. There's two o-rings on the top of the injector that seals to that cap. Best bet is to replace the whole return system with a kit. Any leaks there will make for really hard starting as the system will suck air in while parked.

Repeated clicking of the GP relay usually means you have some bad glow plugs. You can check them with an ohm meter, I don't remember the spec but I believe it's about 2 ohms or less. Only use the OEM glow plugs. You can buy them on ebay or wherever, but make sure they're the originals.

Old 04-20-2019, 11:18 PM
hyghlndr
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks will look up the return setup kit.

I bought 8 new motorcraft glow plugs, were in the original bags. Anything else to check?