3.0L 99' Ranger sputters during accelleration

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2019, 08:23 AM
Stranger99
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3.0L 99' Ranger sputters during accelleration

Hi all,

I'm new to the Ranger life, I picked up a Ranger for a work vehicle with 4wd that wasn't as big as my half ton truck.

This one has given me a few minor problems as I get to know it and the most recent one is sputtering during acceleration. The truck idles just fine, and starts up without a problem. I replaced the fuel filter and dumped a can of sea foam in the tank just as a quick thing to try. I was on the highway when this first started happening. I was bucking a 30 mph head wind and then suddenly started losing power. When you baby it, there is no sputter or misfire, but when you lug the engine it seems to be missing fuel. I saw that cleaning the EGR valve might help me out, but I was hoping someone may have had a similar issue before and could give me some advice.

Thanks,
Craig

Old 04-21-2019, 09:55 AM
pawpaw
Received 73 Likes on 71 Posts
Welcome to FTE.

I see you don't have any replies yet so I'll see if I can get things started. Good idea to have outlined how the problem began, what you've done in the interim & that you've recently come by the vehicle so it's new to you & I assume its past maintenance & repair history are unknown?

Seeing as how this is a 99 it's OBD-2 diagnostics & you seem to like turning your own wrenches & trouble shooting, use, borrow, or come by the ELM scan tool & running diagnostic freeware FORScan on the viewing device of your choice as described here, https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...-scantool.html & have it scan for trouble code clues & post All code Numbers, as they can help focus a trouble shoot.