Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks

1990 f150 wont stay running

Old 04-19-2019, 11:01 AM
Grinding_INC
New User
Grinding_INC is starting off with a positive reputation.
1990 f150 wont stay running

Let me apologize in advance, im new to the fourm so I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this or not. So I got the truck from a friend of mine after it had sat for 2 years or so. Put a new battery in it and it fired right up, at first I just did plugs wires oil new egr and a air filter. Truck ran great no problems. After about 3 weeks of daily driving to and from work I started having issues. The first problem was a hard sputter I would call it. Rpms would disappear for a split second and come back but would do it back to back and the truck would lurch hard as if i hit something. Then one day it just died and wouldn't start at all. Got it towed home, I replaced the tfi module and a fuel pump. Turned out my fuel pump relay was bad. Replaced the relay and it finally started again. Went to work the next day and the whole 8 mile drive it would just shut off as if I turned the key off so i went to get a new relay harness, swapped it in but still dying randomly until it just quit for good. Got towed a second time. Then I replaced the ignition coil distributor cap and rotor and the AIC module. Truck still wouldnt run. Swapped back to original TFI and it ran but very rough. Returned the new one I had just bought for another and truck ran good for a day now I'm back to it just dying randomly. Again I apologize for the length of this post but I'm just getting frustrated and tired of being stuck on the side of the road. Any advice would be appreciated. It's a 1990 f150 5.0 302 with 134xxx miles. Thanks again

Old 04-19-2019, 11:16 AM
vjsimone
Old-Timer
vjsimone has a good reputation on FTE.vjsimone has a good reputation on FTE.