6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

Buying Advice & Reliability - 2016 F250 diesel

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2019, 10:25 AM
pianolaw
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buying Advice & Reliability - 2016 F250 diesel

Hey everyone - looking at buying a used 2016 F250 diesel with approx 31K miles from a Ford dealer (not certified). I have no experience whatsoever with diesels but looking to pull an airstream eventually which would include some mountain towing (the air brake is cool). The bumper to bumper warranty expires in 2 months but the drivetrain warranty is good for another 26 months or 28K miles. I'm not a fan of extended warranties but nervous because this is my first diesel. I've been reading a lot of posts on this forum and it seems like the 6.7L is a reliable performer. Any advice to this diesel newbie on whether an extended warranty is worth it? If so buy it now or later?

Old 03-18-2019, 10:49 AM
Just Strokin
Post Fiend
Received 98 Likes on 84 Posts
First question is do you really need a diesel? The maintenance cost will be higher than a gasoline truck. Oil, fuel and filters for both cost more than gas engine. You can have the dealer pull an OASIS report for you so you can see if any service, regular or warranty, has been performed at a Ford dealer. If you need a diesel, then ask the dealer to toss in an extended warranty or go halves with them on it.

Old 03-18-2019, 11:03 AM
pianolaw
New User
Originally Posted by Just Strokin
First question is do you really need a diesel? The maintenance cost will be higher than a gasoline truck. Oil, fuel and filters for both cost more than gas engine. You can have the dealer pull an OASIS report for you so you can see if any service, regular or warranty, has been performed at a Ford dealer. If you need a diesel, then ask the dealer to toss in an extended warranty or go halves with them on it.