Bench seat rebuild - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Bench seat rebuild

Old 03-15-2019, 03:07 AM
JimScott
Freshman User
JimScott is starting off with a positive reputation.
Bench seat rebuild

The time has come to rebuild my seat. The cover is shot and I've been sitting on the foam, which has several chunks missing. I'm having a hard time finding the factory molded foam to replace it. Does anyone know where I can find it? LMC only has a generic pad to put on top of the original foam. Thanks for the help!

Old 03-15-2019, 08:14 AM
shipwrecked
Junior User
shipwrecked is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
I rebuilt my bench seat with foam purchased at Joann Fabric. Wasn't cheap. I don't drive my truck right now because I've been rebuilding it- but the foam has been on the seat for a few years and it is comfortable.
I used the 3" high density foam... you will find long sheets of it in the back of the store at like 30$ a yard. I also used some wool material and other things to cover all of that. I made a youtube about it- materials cost and all. I do not make money off my youtube- cause all I'm doing is documenting my build.

To the best of my knowledge no one makes a seat foam kit for our trucks.

Old 03-15-2019, 08:17 AM
JimScott
Freshman User
JimScott is starting off with a positive reputation.
Originally Posted by shipwrecked View Post
I rebuilt my bench seat with foam purchased at Joann Fabric. Wasn't cheap. I don't drive my truck right now because I've been rebuilding it- but the foam has been on the seat for a few years and it is comfortable.
I used the 3" high density foam... you will find long sheets of it in the back of the store at like 30$ a yard. I also used some wool material and other things to cover all of that. I made a youtube about it- materials cost and all. I do not make money off my youtube- cause all I'm doing is documenting my build.