99 Ranger 3.0 Won't idle - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

99 Ranger 3.0 Won't idle

Old 03-14-2019, 10:17 PM
'99F250
Senior User
'99F250 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.'99F250 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
99 Ranger 3.0 Won't idle

I went to start my Ranger yesterday and as soon as it started it died. I tried it a couple more times but it did the same thing. If I give it gas it runs fine, and after I ran it for about a minute with my foot on the gas it almost idled at like 300-400 RPM's and then died. I haven't had time to dig into it yet and I am totally new to these engines. I'm hoping to look at it on Saturday, what should I be looking for? Is this a common problem on these?

Thanks!

Old 03-15-2019, 08:04 AM
pawpaw
pawpaw is a splendid one to beholdpawpaw is a splendid one to beholdpawpaw is a splendid one to beholdpawpaw is a splendid one to beholdpawpaw is a splendid one to beholdpawpaw is a splendid one to beholdpawpaw is a splendid one to behold
Scan the ECM for trouble code clues & post All code Numbers, as they can help focus a trouble shoot.

Seeing as how you seem interested in trouble shooting your vehicle woes, If you don't have a code reader, or scan tool, or don't know anyone with one that'll scan for you, or let you borrow it, consider coming by the inexpensive ELM & running FORScan diagnostic freeware (that's tweaked for Fords), on the viewing device of your choice as discussed here https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...-scantool.html. This powerful combo can query All of the vehicle computer/controllers for trouble code clues. Then post All code Numbers, as they can help focus a trouble shoot. This combo can also put up live sensor PID feeds on our viewing device, so we can see live data in several formats of our choice, so makes for a Very powerful addition to our electronic tool box.