2003 Oil Leak. - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

2003 Oil Leak.

Old 03-13-2019, 06:49 PM
Shelstin
Junior User
Shelstin is starting off with a positive reputation.
2003 Oil Leak.

I am not a mechanic by any means. I received a lot of good info here about a year ago. I bought a 2003 6.0 last January. Totally stock with 75k. The truck is a beast and has been perfect, and even though it is much more truck than I need, it's nice to have the power when I want it. It's developed a pretty good oil leak. I called the closest diesel shop about an hour away and described the location, and without looking at it, said that it was probably an oil pressure sensor. The cab would need to be pulled and I might as well bullit proof it while he was there. I didn't like the answer. I took it to my regular mechanic, and he doesn't feel comfortable working on a diesel. He recommend a guy that was a Ford diesel tech before he took another job and still does work on the side. I know him and gave him a call, and he came by the house. he looked things over, and said that it was almost certainly the oil pressure sensor on the back of the engine. It's tight but he can get to it. It will be a few weeks before he has time, but I can live with that. He said on the newer engines the sensor is on top and simple to get to. I hope that this all makes sense. My question...is there anything else I should consider having done while he is at it? EGR delete?

Old 03-13-2019, 07:34 PM
tfunk88
Elder User
tfunk88 is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
I thought the oil pressure sensor was on the oil cooler cover?

Unless they are talking about the injection control pressure sensor, which I think on a 2003 is on the HPOP cover under/behind the turbo. On later engines itís on the passenger valve cover. But that shouldnít require cab removal.