1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

New Member an 1951 Ford F5 Owner.

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2019, 03:12 PM
Ziptar
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ziptar's 1951 Ford F5 3/4 Ton 4x4 Parts and Pieces Project

New member and unwitting Ford F5 owner. I'm a Data Analyst / System Integration Developer AKA "IT Guy" by trade. I've worked on every car I've owned since I was 14 (At 14 I paid $50 for a 63 GMC Pickup) built 2 cars and have done lts of engine and tranny swaps over the years. I'm a good mechanic, novice welder with a 110V Harbor Freight welder, and amateur but clumsy fabricator, and capable of a good (5 foot) paint job currently.

This year for Valetines Day my wife gifted me a 1951 Ford F5. Nothing says "I Love You" like a big old truck, am I right? The truck belonged to the husband of my wife's oldest and dearest friend. The story is that he bought the truck on eBay last year from a seller in Iowa who claimed it had been in a barn in Nebraska for the last 20 years. He had it shipped here to New Hampshire with plans to frame swap it onto a Dodge 1 Ton Dually Frame with a Cummins 5.9. He's got some stuff going on and needed to raise cash so he's been selling of some toys, projects, and what not. One day while my wife was visiting someone had shown up to look at it in response to his craigslist ad, she asked about it and they showed her the truck and she bought it on the spot. We've taken to calling it "The Dump truck of Love" but, givewn where it's come from it was grain truck. It's going to be towed it over to my place after the snow melts. In the mean time, I've been scouring this forum, I've spent hours reading thread after thread.

I've been over to their place and had a good look at it, it's a project for sure.

It's got the 239 V8, Syncro Silent T-98 4 Speed. and a sigle speed rear axle.
Glovebox Tag:
Engine No._ F5R1SP13377 Model 1R-1