351w Duraspark questions - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks

351w Duraspark questions

Old 03-07-2019, 07:22 PM
SixerFixer
Junior User
SixerFixer is starting off with a positive reputation.
351w Duraspark questions

The diagram seems pretty straight forward one problem is that I don't have a resistive load before the coil as the 1996 F150 this 70's Windsor is going into never had one of these in the factory harness. The ignition module is a rock auto special, the dizzy is a factory Motorcraft with an MSD red top. Is it ok to use it with no resistor in place? I don't think it would be ok, but im new to these things and there's always something new to learn even if you didn't mean too. So just to make sure i've got my T's dotted and my I's crossed, the three wires coming off the dizzy connect to ignition module while the fourth wire off the box goes to one post on the coil(Tach), the white wire and red wire im a little fuzzy on; the red and white wires appear to be one resistive wire for driving to limit current draw on the coil to lessen the burden on the alternator while driving, and one non resisted to let current free flow for starting purposes. What i'm fuzzy on is how i get two from one. I've only got one red non-resistive coil wire and one yellow tach wire(does the tach wire go on the same pole on the coil as the green module wire or is that connected somewhere else....?) The swap was a 300 six with a four barrel to a 351w with a four barrel. The 300 wasn't maintained by P.O. and died after a long battle with heads, coolant and oil. The Mazda five speed will be kept in place, upgraded to an 11" clutch. The Mazda should live a reasonably long life behind the Windsor as the truck has 2:73 gears and will only be a DD with occasional towing no more than 6k lbs. Any and all help is much appreciated.