Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Combining Upgrades / Maintenance Items - Suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2019, 12:22 PM
brettdacosta
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Dan V
It just appeared to me that money was a factor in some of your decision making process and were throwing money at one thing that doesn't require immediate attention.
I appreciate the consideration. Yes - money is definitely a factor in all of my automotive thought processes. Unfortunately, that's what you get when all three of your vehicles are over 220K miles.

My 2 main and pressing issues are the glow plugs and leaking fuel. If I'm already going to be taking the fuel bowl out to clean / rebuild it, I may as well go ahead and perform FPR mods or preventive maintenance and install the fuel pressure gauge I've been sitting on for about 3-4 years.

Old 02-21-2019, 01:35 PM
Bonanza35
Lead Driver

Received 140 Likes on 100 Posts
Just read this and am going to follow.

Old 11-12-2019, 11:16 PM
brettdacosta
Tuned
Well...I finally got around to it, and since some of you may have cared how it turned out, I'll give you a rundown of the weekend.

Totally jobs completed...
- Fuel bowl o-rings replaced
- FRx crossover installed (used black fpr spring with new regulator)
- New glow plugs installed
- Meticulously cleaned valley / fuel bowl / intercooler pipes, boots, and clamps
- Passenger side fuel tube inspection -no signs of wear at the securing clamp.
- Glow plug relay checkout

Incomplete jobs (left to do)
- CCV mod
- Install new fuel filter (turns out I don't have the oem filter cap, so I couldn't use the racor filter element I bought yet)

Total time spent...way too long... About 18 total hours.

Setbacks / Lessons learned...
- Scared out my mind I was going to round off / break off the 2 passenger side valve cover bolts that need a swivel socket adapter (30 minute setback due to worrying)