Aluminum trucks - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Aluminum trucks

Old 01-18-2019, 08:42 PM
Scottrw
New User
Scottrw is starting off with a positive reputation.
Aluminum trucks

im a contractor and use my bed daily.20 years of f350s and no issues.after seeing several of my construction buddies 17-18 truck beds Iím at a crossroads,im at about 200,000 and planned on getting a 2020 at the end of the year,anyone know if the 2020ís will address the weak bed and tailgate?

Old 01-18-2019, 08:51 PM
BillyE
Elder User
BillyE is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Iím not sure what youíre talking about.

Old 01-18-2019, 09:04 PM
Uzumati
Post Fiend
Uzumati has a good reputation on FTE.Uzumati has a good reputation on FTE.Uzumati has a good reputation on FTE.
Had mine line-x’d the day I got it and have thrown farm tools an implements in it for 2 years with no dents dings or scrapes. Now and unprotected bed/tailgate wether steel or aluminum would usually be pretty beat up under that use.

Old 01-18-2019, 09:11 PM
ShadowGrey
Senior User
ShadowGrey is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Line-X it and don't worry about it...It will be stronger than any uncoated steel bed out there.

Old 01-18-2019, 09:15 PM
edjunior
Posting Guru
edjunior is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.edjunior is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
Please be a little more specific on what you mean by "weak bed and taillights". I beat up my other beds pretty good, but they still did what they needed to do.

Old 01-18-2019, 09:44 PM
ford390gashog
Post Fiend