Question on Lift of '75 F100 - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck

Question on Lift of '75 F100

Old 01-09-2019, 11:36 PM
Ptjsk
New User
Ptjsk is starting off with a positive reputation.
Question on Lift of '75 F100

Hello,

I'm a newbie to this forum. Although I do belong to other classic car forums, this is the first Ford Truck Forum I've joined.

I recently purchase a 1975 Ford F100 4WD. The truck is a short wide box equipped with a 360, 4 speed, and a Model 21 Transfer Case. I realize this isn't the most desirable transfer case, but none the less it still operates well. Still retains original paint with an original 130k miles. Overall the truck's in pretty darn good condition.

I definitely need to lift the front end with efforts to at least even out the front to the rear. It looks to be a need of 3"-4". Can any of you guy's recommend springs that will give me the desired height? Also, I'm sure I'll have to get new shocks, but is there any thing else I need to do to the front end components?

Also, the power steering assist valve (Garrison Valve), appears to move a bit too much before it actually engages moving the wheels. I removed the valve and am currently having it rebuilt. I'm hoping that takes up the play that was in the valve.

I plan on new wheels and tires for the truck. I already have a set of 15" x 8.5" rims and I'm looking at either 33", or 35" tires. Will 35's fit under the front fenders with a 3"-4" lift, or should I play it safe and stay with 33's?

Thanks for your responses.

Pat

Old 01-10-2019, 03:50 PM
Ptjsk
New User
Nobody has done this?

Pat

Old 01-10-2019, 07:10 PM
77&79F250
Used OEM parts guy