Sponsored by:

Exhaust Noise Question

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2003, 05:11 PM
Wakeboarder141
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Exhaust Noise Question

I have searched the threads and have not found exactly the answers I am looking for on this. I have a Flowmaster exhaust system with a 40 series dual outlet muffler. It seems way too quiet for me and I was considering removing the cats as a sound increaser. Would removing the dual cats and adding a single high flow cat be as loud as no cats? Would there be any disadvantage performance-wise to removing the cats and just adding in a piece of straight pipe? Are there any sensors or anything that would be removed by cutting out the section from the rear cat to the front cat that would cause me problems? Finally, short of not running a muffler and spending a bunch of money I don't have on headers, is there any other way to getting my exhaust to get more of that "Flowmaster tone" that I love? Emmissions testing is not an issue. Thanks a lot for any help you can give.

Last edited by Wakeboarder141; 09-27-2003 at 05:22 PM.
Old 09-27-2003, 05:21 PM
troysbowman
Junior User
I have considered doing the same thing.

I live in Jacksonville and the only thing I have done to my exhaust (all stock) is to remove the muffler, add a tee, and run duals to the outside of each rear tire.

The noise factor is not bad with the muffler off, but I want to just run straight pipe from the y to the tee in the rear. I am sure it will be slightly loud, but I do also wonder if this will pose a problem.

My O2 sensor is located in between the y right before the first converter. I don't think this will pose a problem with the operation of the vehicle if the ' straight ' pipe is used.

Just my thoughts, I hope this will help. I am interested to see if another user has more light to shed.

Old 09-28-2003, 11:45 AM
Wakeboarder141
Elder User
Is there also some kind of restriction in the Y-Pipe that would make it quieter?