1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Rip Van Winkle, a 65 CS

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2018, 12:37 AM
Alaskan66
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rip Van Winkle, a 65 CS

I don't recall how long Rip Van Winkle slept, in the child's story, but last week, for the first time since 1990 ,my 1965 Camper Special drove down a highway under its own power. This is my first attempt to post pictures..
First things first. I want to thank all those who contribute to this site. I have referenced it often. Also, to those about to embark upon a resto or just to tinker with one of these things I recommend the single best piece of advice I've gotten here. Namely, buy the Ford parts disc from hipoparts. Best 20 bucks you'll spend on the whole project.
I'll tell you what I know about the truck, tell what Ive done so far and then list the work remaining. The third part will probably be an ongoing thread. I'm no mechanic and my comprehension skills are often questioned.. Ha.

The truck in question is a 1965 F250 Camper Special Deluxe/
I got it three or four years ago and Bill (ND) was kind enough to decode the warranty plate for me at that time.. The truck is what the plate claims it to be.
65 CS Deluxe
F250
352 with NP 435 tranny.
Medium Blue /Wimbledon White
Sold out of the Seattle District office by Bill Marshall Ford in Vancouver(Wa.) Ford on July 8,, 1965 /
After market items included dual saddle tanks with driver side switch valve. Western Jr. three- arm rear view mirrors, heavy duty rear bumper. At some point a cheap cassette player replaced the original AM radio and the speakers were mounted in the rear piece of the roof liner. Needless to say , the cardboard failed and the speaker fell out.