2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004 5.4L Smoke from exhaust

Old 11-24-2018, 11:03 PM
AppleUp
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 5.4L Smoke from exhaust

I've seen a few old threads on here about this issue, but they're all either different or unsolved. This is my father's 2004 F150, 172k on it, and I'm trying to get it fixed for him. He got it with about 160k on it a few months ago and since then it's had a high oil consumption, about a quart every 1-2 weeks, and smoke like crazy out the tail pipe. What concerns me is the inconsistency of the smoke pattern. Some days it's fine and other days it has a little puff and that's it, then there are times when there's a big cloud the size of the truck. From what I can see, it's light grey/white so I'm trying to figure out if it's oil, coolant, or just condensation. The coolant level hasn't changed since I've been driving it for the past two months. Plugs were changed about 6k ago with E3's and ran better than the fouled plugs that were in it for God knows how long. Tail pipe is charred with a light film of soot/ash/black powdery. Im just trying to figure out exactly what will make this engine happy instead of throwing parts and money at it.

Old 11-25-2018, 08:16 AM
redfishtd
Fleet Mechanic
Received 165 Likes on 144 Posts