Sponsored by:

'88 Bronco Project

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2018, 12:55 PM
McLeod
Cargo Master
Received 151 Likes on 117 Posts
Originally Posted by evan_nugget
I guess we'll never know, I'm just glad to have the Warn manuals. As for the filter I think I get what you mean. Is there any way to get a new one from a parts house though?
An early '88 would most likely refer to vehicles produced in late '87. (Usually start in August of preceding year). An April build date may be considered a "mid production" date.

I have no personal experience with the 87/88 Fords, but weren't auto hubs offered in those years also?
If so, wouldn't an auto hub be a somewhat direct swap over to standard "Warn" type hubs just like in the 92-96 150/Broncos ?

Old 11-23-2018, 02:26 PM
evan_nugget
Laughing Gas
Received 95 Likes on 55 Posts
Battery has been trickle charging all day - it cranks fast now. The spark is verified strong and blue from cyl 1 and 5. Haven't yet tested fuel pressure - still doesn't make sense that it wouldn't fire while spraying ether at it...

Old 11-23-2018, 08:43 PM
vjsimone
Cargo Master
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
still doesn't make sense that it wouldn't fire while spraying ether at it...
It doesn't.
It does take a large volume of fuel to start a cold engine.
Take a look at a plug after you try starting, sometime they tell a tale.
Check the spark the plug puts out, while you have it out.
Keep checking items off the list.

So nothing else has been done to the engine since it ran last?

Old 11-23-2018, 08:51 PM
vjsimone
Cargo Master

F150-302

Old 11-24-2018, 04:09 PM
evan_nugget
Laughing Gas
Ok so the plastic on that linkage is broken. But, it doesn't affect WOT operation so I'll let it be.