2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Short Trips w/ 6.7

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2018, 08:05 AM
Timtanium
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Short Trips w/ 6.7

Hi All,

I'm new to diesels and wondering if there is a distance or run time for the 6.7 PSD that is too short. My current commute is about 20 minutes and I frequently make trips to the store up the street, under 5 minutes away. I live in Florida so cold weather really isn't really an issue. Might be in the 30's in the morning for 1 week a year, worst case.

Thanks,
Tim

Old 10-18-2018, 08:20 AM
N2dunz
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do you only ever do short trips like that?
If so, you bought the wrong vehicle.

Anyway, the truck is smart enough to know when to do regens etc.
Eventually, the DPF will never get cleaned out and it will get plugged, with constant short trips.

Best thing for these trucks you can do, hook up to 15,000lbs and put the coals to it.
Diesels like to be worked and get hot.
Not go get groceries.

Old 10-18-2018, 08:48 AM
fortheford
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You will be fine. Enjoy your truck. I love the constant if you don't pull 15000 multiple times a day your truck will die comments. DPF, EGR etc have been in use across all the "big 3" for almost a decade. Just like any other technology, yes it can fail. And like most modern vehicles, most of the time it is problem free. And if it's not, you have a pretty good warranty covering emissions. Please point to the page in the owners manual that says you have to adjust your daily driving habits. Or that you can't drive the trucks "short trips only".

Old 10-18-2018, 08:49 AM
C12H24
Posting Guru
Received 503 Likes on 264 Posts
I don't use mine even that much.