Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help, intermittent no start issue

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2018, 09:14 PM
Ddaybc
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Help, intermittent no start issue

I am not very good at troubleshooting electrical issues so any help on where and how to look will be greatly appreciated. I have been intermittently trying to solve an intermittent no start issue since April of this year. It is a 92 F250 SC Long bed 4X4 with a 460 and a ZF-5.

Symptoms are as follows. When I turn the key to run in preparation to start the truck the dash lights go through their normal pre start routine and I can hear the fuel pump for a few seconds. Usually when I turn the key to start, it starts without issue. However, sometimes I get nothing. No crank, no clicking from the solenoid and everything inside the cab cuts out. Today, it also seemed to have lost battery contact as the radio clock reset to 12:00, switched to AM instead of FM and lost all presets just like when I disconnected the battery.

What I have done so far. Of course shortly after I got the truck home I gave it a tune up and replaced plugs, rotor, distributor cap, plug wires, air cleaner. The oil was just changed before I bought the truck so I haven't changed it yet as I have only put four thousand kilometres on it since I bought it. I know it's probably not related but I wanted everyone to know what's been done for clarity.

Replaced the starter solenoid as the old one was looking very rough. Old, cracked and dirty.
Checked the grounds that I know of and, surprisingly, they are all in good shape. Good cables and clean contacts
Replaced the pedal box bushings.
Jumpered the clutch lock out switch.
Upgraded to a 3G alternator with the slow start (delayed start) regulator.
I changed the battery cable ends with new ones.