2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Diesel vs. Gas Longevity?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2018, 08:22 AM
Bohojo
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Diesel vs. Gas Longevity?

Hi everyone!

Im purchasing a new 2019 F250 within the next few months.
I plan on keeping this truck for many, many years...until it dies. Haha! Yes seriously.

It will be my daily driver, as I'm a residential contractor and use my truck for both work and daily driving.
I average around 20-25k miles per year.
Most of my driving is in the suburbs, with interstate driving frequently... weekends to the lake etc...

I understand the towing benefits of diesel... I might tow a 12,000 lb trailer 5% of the time at the most.

It apoears the up front cost difference when also considering mpg, cost of fuel and maintenance (long term) is a wash.

All that said, since I plan on keeping this truck for 20 plus years with proper maintenance... which engine will last the longest? Gas or Diesel?

Thanks!!!!!

Old 09-16-2018, 08:34 AM
cficare
Cargo Master
Received 330 Likes on 195 Posts
So you'll drive it 20-plus years at 20-25k miles per year, or 400k to 500k miles? Then there is no question which engine to select. FYI, the 6.7 diesel in the larger trucks are warrantied by Ford for 500k miles, but those engines are detuned in comparison to the pickup powerplants. The biggest long-term expense will be replacing the DPF every 200k miles.

Old 09-16-2018, 09:57 AM
lawnspecialties
More Turbo
Received 68 Likes on 32 Posts
I've never had a truck for 20 years. I sold my '89 Ranger in 2001 and that's as close as I got.

At first I was going to say gas (I have both). But the towing, the interstate driving, and the longevity you're looking for makes me think diesel.

Best of luck in your search.

Old 09-16-2018, 10:02 AM
cattaco
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Both engines will probably last as long as the rest of the truck.

Old 09-16-2018, 10:20 AM