1997-2006 Expedition & Navigator 1997 - 2002 and 2003 - 2006 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator Discussion

Missfire on cyl 4 - now on 3 & 7, no power

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2018, 02:16 PM
Bratwurst
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Missfire on cyl 4 - now on 3 & 7, no power

Hello guys, newbie here, and I hope someone is able to help with my engine problem.

97' Expi 4x4, 4.6L with the 2 ignition coils at the front of the engine

It all started with the check engine light and the engine not running smoothly, no power. Diagnosis was misfire on cylinder 4, I then purchased a new ignition coil for the left cylinder bank.

I then took it in and they checked all the cables, cleaned the fuel delivery system, carburetor, all injectors, cleaned and flushed the tank and fuel lines, replaced fuel pump strainer and installed a new fuel filter.

After this was all done, suddenly there is a misfire on cylinders 3 and 7 (!), so on both banks and there is even less power. It is a really choppy ride to say the least. Cables look all good and tightly attached.

Any help is really appreciated and I thank you guys in advance!

Old 08-17-2018, 09:07 AM
Spaznaut
Posting Guru
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
I'd pull those spark plugs before anything else and check them. With that flushing of the fuel system may have stirred up some gunk into those injectors after the fact.

Old 08-17-2018, 10:09 AM
alloro
Received 4,194 Likes on 2,430 Posts
Originally Posted by Bratwurst
After this was all done, suddenly there is a misfire on cylinders 3 and 7 (!), so on both banks and there is even less power. It is a really choppy ride to say the least. Cables look all good and tightly attached.
Any trouble codes when scanning it?

Old 09-01-2018, 03:08 PM
Bratwurst
New User
Hello again,

it has been an eventful 2 weeks - we have taken everything apart again and checked wires and the (new) spark plugs again. The engine was running fine and the shaking stopped. No more misfire error codes.