Project build - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices
1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

Project build

Old 08-13-2018, 01:08 AM
Pat Ayala
New User
Pat Ayala is starting off with a positive reputation.
Project build

Hello this is my first ever post here also my first build project I'm trying to learn more about building and restoring my 1970 f100 camper special my dad gave me he told me I should put a mustang 5.0 but all I've found was coyote 5.0 but he saids that's the newer engine and he was referring to paxton supercharger 5.0 (1986ish) um sorry If this all sounds stupid I'm still learning so what is the pros and cons between the two and are the just drop in and fit or do I have to think about special mounts because I know you have to for something like a Cummins but a diesel and completely different any help will be greatly appreciated thank you.

Old 08-14-2018, 05:21 AM
GaryKip
Postmaster
GaryKip is a splendid one to beholdGaryKip is a splendid one to beholdGaryKip is a splendid one to beholdGaryKip is a splendid one to beholdGaryKip is a splendid one to beholdGaryKip is a splendid one to beholdGaryKip is a splendid one to behold
First , Welcome to the Forum, Pat. Second I would suggest that you read:Read First:Technical Info Hyperlink Compilation( 1 2)byHIO Silver. It will cover a boat load of your questions. And third, when you need any info on your truck let us know what engine, tranny it has. Have you decoded the VIN on the warranty plate (located on the driver's side door)? If you post that number we can tell you what it has-or at least what it came with originally. You will find a vast amount of knowledge on here. I guess the older 5.0/302 with a supercharger would put out some serious HP. Do you have one yet? And no it will not just drop in and every fit together. You'll have to change a few small things. But sure it can be done. Some of the guys will chime in soon and give their thoughts.