A/C blowing fuse immediately

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2018, 11:55 AM
jamierob
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A/C blowing fuse immediately

Hello - I'm new to this fantastic forum. I have a '96 F-250 7.3L Diesel and the A/C has stopped working for me. First, it worked, then #6 fuse blew, then it worked for an hour and #6 blew, then 10 minutes, now the #6 fuse blows the second I turn the A/C on every time.

-I unplugged the compressor coil and #6 still blows immediately when I turn the A/C on
-I put the ohmmeter on the connectors to the compressor coil and it read out '0.0'...which means it's a dead short, I gather?

So, I'm stumped, if #6 fuse is blowing when the coil is unplugged, what could be the problem? Could it still be the coil or am I reading the ohmmeter incorrectly? Also FWIW, every time I turn the truck off I hear the expansion tank pressure equalizing for quite a few minutes even if the A/C has not been running. I don't have pressure gauges, but not long ago I had it tested and the Hi/Lo pressures checked out.

Thanks!

Old 07-17-2018, 04:27 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,673 Likes on 1,352 Posts
Unplug the low pressure switch mounted on the expansion tank. Try again. If the fuse blows, you have problems up in the dash area. If it does not blow, I suspect your diode is shorted out, it's in the harness out near the compressor coil plug and is sort of made into the harness.

Old 07-17-2018, 06:46 PM
jamierob
New User
Thanks Dave! So, I unplugged the low pressure switch on the expansion tank (photo #1 if i'm not mistaken). and just like you said, fuse #6 did NOT blow when I turned the A/C on. Progress!

So, now on to the diode. This is photo #2, correct? It's the plug going into the compressor which is behind the smaller coil plug (photo #3). Sounds like this diode is the part that I need to replace?

Photo #1: low pressure switch

photo #2: diode? is this also known as the high-pressure switch?

photo #3, coil plug

Old 07-17-2018, 08:11 PM
Franklin2