AC Questions - Do I have soft start, or do I need it?

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2018, 06:55 AM
seventyseven250
Lead Driver
Received 437 Likes on 322 Posts
AC Questions - Do I have soft start, or do I need it?

While I'm not that new to towing (on my third trailer now), I am a total newbie to the world of trailer AC. Got a new trailer over the last winter, and didn't ask any questions about it, and in the huge stack of information about the various components, there's nothing on the AC unit, not even the manufacturer name. Just a handwritten note on the build sheet that it's a 15k BTU unit.

Most of my camping is boonbocking up here in the mountains of Canada. So if I want AC, I need it to run off the generator for an hour or two in the evening while the kids go to bed and the air cools off. I'm in the market for a new generator as well, as my old cheap one died recently.

Trailer is a 2018 Grand Design Imagine 2400BH. as I say I think the AC is a 15k BTU unit, but I don't know anything more.

So, my questions are:
1) I've heard some newer AC units have a built in "soft start" feature from the factory, how would I find out if mine has this?
2) is the factory soft start as good as the MicroAir "easy-start" that I've heard is the best aftermarket solution?
the bonus question is 3) aside from a quality Yamaha or Honda 2000w x2 parallel setup, what's a good cheaper alternative for someone who values quiet operation? There's so many "other" branded inverter generators on the market these days.

Thanks in advance.

Old 07-16-2018, 07:25 AM
Handy1
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Go to YouTube and do a search for RV generators. There are a lot of videos on different gens being tested.

Old 07-16-2018, 08:07 AM
Optimistic Paranoid
Mountain Pass