Short bed with a 101" 5er - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices

Short bed with a 101" 5er

Old 05-02-2018, 10:25 PM
KSWilson
New User
KSWilson is starting off with a positive reputation.
Short bed with a 101" 5er

Buying a Grand Designs Solitude 344 and an F-350 SRW. Can I get some thoughts on a short bed with a slider vs a long bed, given the 101" wide ? I saw something on a thread that the wider trailer presented some problems with the short bed/slider combo ? Are there any long bed fans who want to talk me out of a short bed anyhow ? I am a rookie, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks !

Old 05-02-2018, 10:34 PM
Fishermanbb
Junior User
Fishermanbb is gaining momentum as a positive member of FTE.
I have a 102” wide 5th wheel with a short bed and a slider (auto slider). No issues at all.

Old 05-03-2018, 09:44 AM
-brent
Junior User
-brent is starting off with a positive reputation.
I have 6.8 bed and a 8.5 wide 5th toyhauler with B W slider. Ours is a SRW , however I upgraded tires and rims to get a taller and wider stance from stock. We have no problems.

Last edited by -brent; 05-03-2018 at 10:28 AM. Reason: Sig did not show
Old 05-03-2018, 01:06 PM
djousma
Posting Guru
djousma is a splendid one to beholddjousma is a splendid one to beholddjousma is a splendid one to beholddjousma is a splendid one to beholddjousma is a splendid one to beholddjousma is a splendid one to beholddjousma is a splendid one to behold
My Cardinal is same width, and I run the Demco Hijacker autoslide in my CCSB SRW. Glad I am, not sure it was a requirement. Just not having to think about it is comforting enough. My next truck will be a Long Bed SRW, and I will then ditch the slider in favor of a B&W. My move to LB is mostly to get the much larger fuel tank stock. I could retrofit my 2016 with a Titan tank, but I have a hard time dropping the coin for that, knowing I will trade the truck in in 3 more years.

Old 05-04-2018, 09:13 PM
backtrack2015
Senior User