Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1990 F250 3G upgrade problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2018, 12:51 PM
Mike Grier
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1990 F250 3G upgrade problems

Well i got a 7.3 idi recently and decided to do a 3g alternator uograde and put in new battery cables. My issue seems to be from my wiring i did on my upgrade. Im no electrician nor am i a mechanic, just a 19 year old kid trying to make this truck right so it runs forever. Im showing 12.6 volts to the starter relay, at the starter post and my batteries are both good. When j attempt to start i just get a hard click from im assuming the starter. If i try and jump my relay I dont get any sparks or crank. Is it possible its just a bad starter or did i do some wiring wrong?

Old 04-17-2018, 03:31 PM
1TonBasecamp
Lead Driver
Received 731 Likes on 585 Posts
The initial click you hear is the relay itself closing the contacts. So that part at least is normal. Unfortunately it's usually supposed to be accompanied by the starter spinning!
Some possibilities then:

1. The starter motor itself could have finally failed. Easy way to test this is to give it a couple of good whacks with a hammer to see if it will work after that.
This is obviously not a definitive test, but I mentioned it first because it's so common that an old starter sometimes just doesn't spin initially, but will after a good smacking, that it's worth a quick try. If you can't get a hammer down there, a long pry-bar or screwdriver or punch (or whatever) hit by the hammer up top is a good substitute.

2. The main starter cable between the relay and starter is not able to make the connection. Is it tight and clean at both ends? Is it new-ish, or old?