Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

#1 #8 injectors failed buzz test. 7.3 no start

Old 02-02-2019, 08:59 AM
Nsmock
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
#1 #8 injectors failed buzz test. 7.3 no start

So I recently bought my first diesel and being the penny pincher I am I found a "non-running" one for dirt cheap. The guy I bought it from (hopefully being honest) said that the mechanic he took it to had replaced the fuel sensing unit. It ran for a while then stopped running. He took it back and they said that it needed new injectors. The #1 injector and the #8 injector failed the buzz test. Now I'm new to the diesel world but I would assume with 6 out of 8 injectors the truck would still run? Could it be a current issue going through the bank causing none of them to fire?

Old 02-02-2019, 09:12 AM
Walleye Hunter
Hotshot
Received 888 Likes on 625 Posts
Yep, it would/should run on 6. There is a no start/hard start link in my signature that will guide you through the process. the 7.3 is way down the page. Diagnosis is key, throwing parts at it is futile and most shops don't know what they are doing with these engines, others yet are just plain crooks.

Old 02-02-2019, 09:15 AM
Nsmock
Junior User
Originally Posted by Walleye Hunter
Yep, it would/should run on 6. There is a no start/hard start link in my signature that will guide you through the process. the 7.3 is way down the page. Diagnosis is key, throwing parts at it is futile and most shops don't know what they are doing with these engines, others yet are just plain crooks.
thank you I will take a look when I get back! I would have to guess a fuel problem but I guess we will find out

Old 02-02-2019, 11:56 AM
Colorado350
Postmaster
Received 119 Likes on 84 Posts