2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Auxiliary fuel tank - gravity feed

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2018, 04:37 PM
jrab01
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auxiliary fuel tank - gravity feed

Just picked up a 2017 Lariat Super Crew FX4 PSD.

I previously had a 2012 Model and had an ATI FuelSafe Auxiliary Fuel Tank utilizing the gravity feed system.

Is anyone here running a gravity feed system in a 2017/18? It seems like more people are using a pump fed system, but I'd like some feedback from current gravity flow users.

My previous set up worked great, and I'd like to run the same set up in my new truck.

I only ask because my salesman was adamant this could not be accomplished in the new models.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Old 02-24-2018, 12:26 PM
Eric234
New User
my experience with a gravity fed tank

I am a firefighter and went on a call once for a gravity fed fuel tank in the bed of a truck. It was a large tank I think 100 gallons and had a leak at the base of the tank where the hose line connected. There was no way to patch the leak and we had to pump the entire tank out to stop it from leaking. We ended up putting it into garbage cans and then had to call a hazmat disposal company to take the fuel.

when I bought a fuel tank for my own truck I went with Transfer Flow out of Chico in California. A gravity fed tank might be cheaper buy I would personally steer clear of a gravity fed tank.

Have be a good day,

Eric

Old 02-24-2018, 12:58 PM
Gary E
Laughing Gas
Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Yup that would be rough with it leaking out the bottom but I suppose a puncture could happen as well.

I don't see any reason you couldn't gravity feed with a manual or electric valve. I would probably do an electric valve to the upfitter with a backup manual.

I have never done it but that is the way I would do it unless I was using my tank to fuel up other vehicle.

Old 02-24-2018, 02:22 PM
Anthony W